Posts tagged National Cartoonists Society


Come See Daryl Cagle in Knoxville and St. Just le Martel!

I will crawl out of my spider hole for two events!  Come see me!

I’ll be speaking, and giving a Powerpoint presentation, to the Southeast Chapter of the National Cartoonists Society (NCS) in Knoxville, TN on Saturday, October 26th, at about 11:00am, at the Crowne Plaza Knoxville (University), in Salon B on the mezzanine level.  The NCS chapter folks tell me that anyone can come, so here is your chance to tell me off face to face, no hiding behind those nasty e-mails.

affiche%20web Come See Daryl Cagle in Knoxville and St. Just le Martel! cartoons

I’m impressed with the NCS Southeast Chapter, they put on an ambitious gathering and have a lot of cartooning luminaries in their ranks.  I’m looking forward to it.

Next week I’m going to the big, international, editorial cartooning convention in St. Just le Martel, France.  This is a little town that has decided that they love editorial cartoons – they built an impressive cartoon museum and the whole town comes out in wholehearted support of our troubled art form. They also love cows; this is French cow country, down by Limoges.

Three of the cartoonists I syndicate are coming along, Pat Bagley of the Salt Lake Tribune, Steve Sack of the Minneapolis Star-Tribune, and Bob Englehart of the Hartford Courant.  I think this will be the biggest American turnout that little St. Just has ever had.  And none of us speak French.  Here is a list of all the attending editorial cartoonists, and the days that they will be in attendance.

So, if there are any editorial cartooning fans in France who want to visit with some obscure, American editorial cartoonists, the four of us will be hanging with all the other world cartoonists at the cartoon museum the second weekend of the Salon, October 4th, 5th and 6th.

Read more 0 Comments

Reuben Award Winners Announcement!

I’m at the National Cartoonists Society Reuben Awards banquet tonight, and I just ran up to my hotel room after the dinner to post and tweet the winners of the Cartoonist of the Year Award and all the Division Award Winners.

Reuben Award
The Reuben Award winners are – a tie, for the first time I can remember: Brian Crane (Pickles) and Rick Kirkman (Baby Blues) both won and both took home two big Rube Goldberg statues. I don’t recall that there has ever been a tie before.  The third nominee was Stephan Pastis of Pearls Before Swine.

Reubens Reuben Award Winners Announcement! cartoons

The nominees in the newspaper illustration division were Mark Brewer, Bob Rich and Dave Whamond. The winner is Dave Whammond – a great guy and my new friend who does great work for the Wall Street Journal.

The nominees in the Greeting Card Division were Bill Brewer, George Schill and Jem Sullivan.  The winner in the greeting card division is Jem Sullivan..

The nominees in the TV Animation Division were Todd Kauffman, for Sidekick, Alberto Mielgo for Tron: Uprising, and Rich Weber for DC Nation.  The winner in the TV Animation Division is Rich Weber for DC Nation.

The nominees in the Feature Animation Division were Rich Moore for Wreck-It Ralph, Joann Sear for The Rabbi’s Cat and Hiromasa Yonebayashi for The Secret World of Arriety.  The winner is Joann Sear for The Rabbi’s Cat.

The nominees in the Advertising/Product Illustration Division were Luke McGarry, Ed Steckley and Wayno.  The winner is Ed Steckley.

The nominees in the Graphic Novel Division (that I had the pleasure to announce), were Derf, for My Friend Daumer, Joseph Lambert for Annie Sullivan and the Trials of Helen Keller, and Chris Ware for Building Stories.  The winner in the Graphic novel Division is Chris Ware for Building Stories.

The nominees in the Comic Book Division were Amdanda Connor, Evan Dorkin and Bernie Wrightson.  The winner is Evan Dorkin.

The nominees in the online Comics – Short For Division were Graham Harrop for Ten Cats, Honathan Lemon for Rabbits Against Magic and Michael McParlane for Mac. The Winner is Graham Harrop for Ten Cats.

The Nominees in the Online Comics Long Form Division were Vince Dorse for Untold tales of Bigfoot, Meredith Gran for Octopus Pie and Pan N. Lewis for Muscles Diablo in Where Terror Lurks.  The winner is Vince Dorse.

In the Gag Cartoon Division the nominees were Roz Chast, Sam Gross, Mick Stevens and Jack Ziegler, the winner is Roz Chast.

In the Newspaper Panel Division, Tony Carillo,  F-Minus, Dave Coverly, Speed Bump, and Hilary Price Rhymes With Orange.  The winner in the Newspaper Panel Cartoon Division is Hilary Price, Rhymes With Orange.

In the Editorial Cartoon Division the Nominees were Clay Bennett, Michael de Adder and Jen Sorensen, the winner is Jen Sorensen.

In the Newspaper Comic Strip Division, noinees were Brian Basset, Red & Rover, Jeff Parker and Steve Kelley, Dustin, and Jerry Scott & Jim Borgman, Zits .  Winner is Brian Bassett, Red & Rover.

UPDATE: Here’s a video I shot of Rob Kirkman and Brian Crane both accepting their Reuben Award:

Read more 0 Comments